Couple life

christmas up north (well the midlands) pt.2

 

Daley: For Natalie and I this isn’t our first Christmas spent together but its definitely the highlight of my 2015. Last year we were about to move to where we are now, I was having to travel between being with Natalie and my family as I hadn’t come out to my parents but wanted to spend Christmas day with her. What a difference a year can make eh?

Family means a lot to me and having been together for over a year we thought it was about time I properly got to know Natalie’s family. I’m quite an anxious person so the week leading up to our departure was filled with questions and fear that I would get a case of nausea from Christmas’s past. Ever since I was a kid Christmas has resulted in a trip to the hospital or me having a serious duvet day due to illness. When meeting your partners parent these are things you don’t want to happen!

Having decided so early on we were going I had time to prepare myself and know that I could at least try to show her Ma that they are in a healthy relationship (even though this shouldn’t have mattered I know but anxiety bla). On my arrival into the Midlands first thing I pondered was my going into the house empty handed, like what kinda person would I look like? ; which lead to shopping for her Ma and sister.

After concluding our trip which impressively was under 45 mins I was happy with my purchases and ready to set off. As anyone would do a call was made ahead in which Natalie was told her aunt would also be there.  Not seeing through to her anxiety or fear of me coming home after looking at her I instantly calmed cause if she isn’t its hard for me to stress out.

Once we had arrived her Ma was welcoming and all the past worries I had left me. She kept telling me to make myself at home and was constantly ,making conversation to get to know me better. For me personally it was like watching a cheesy Christmas film. I don’t have a back log of great Christmases but I was glad to be spending it in the Midlands. I feel closer to her and more loved by her than ever. I know it took a lot to ask for me to go but it has made us realize a lot more about each other.

Bring on 2016!

Leave a comment